[solved] Get Mashup working again [Last working version] on XBMC (kodi)

The developer of the famous Mashup addon of XBMC (Kodi), Mash2k3, suddenly pushed an update of Mashup few days ago, which practically deleted Mashup addon on every device. He could have warned us or his fellow developers before deleting everything.

jr5wc6

Here is how you should get it back and it will not auto-update again to delete itself.

  • Download this zip file: http://is.gd/mashuplatest
  • Open your XBMC (Kodi) and go to System>Settings>Addons>Install from zip file and navigate to the downloaded zip file. Wait a little bit until you see that Mashup is enabled.

Thats it! Go to Videos>Video Addons>Mashup now and Enjoy! Give it a little time to load the icons.

Screenshot 2014-11-18 19.56.58

Watch this process in a video: Get Mashup Working again – with Super Search, MBOX, Super Movies and Super TV

Remember most of the things will not work here as the project was abandoned. I was desperate for it because of the Super Search, Super Movies and Super TV shows functions and last but not the least the mighty, MBOX links! MBOX seems to be the only consisted feed.

Watch this process in a video: Get Mashup Working – Goodbye Fix [MBOX, Super Search, Super Movies, SuperTV] XBMC/Kodi Nov 18, 2014

Genesis, Cliq, iStream, Navi-X all of these are nothing compared to what Mashup was. I was having a hard time finding tv shows and movies and stuff to watch. No wonder why people used to tell that Mashup is the only addon you need in your XBMC.

Several heated debate and mourning is going on all over the internet since then, specially on Reddit and Twitter.

Apparently, the last auto-update was the main culprit that deletes everything from Mashup leaving a goodbye message only. I was curious to know how to stop that final auto-update.

In the XBMC (or Kodi) folder, addons\plugin.video.movie25\default.py file was the one that checks for updates. The following line in the default.py file actually doest the work.

verCheck=True #main.CheckVersion()#Checks If Plugin Version is up to date

So, the most obvious thing to do is to change it to “False”.

verCheck=False #main.CheckVersion()#Checks If Plugin Version is up to date

The profile folder of XBMC (Kodi) is located at:
For Kodi “Helix” version 14 on Windows:
C:\Users\ (your username) \AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\plugin.video.movie25
For XBMC “Gotham” version 13 on Windows:
C:\Users\ (your username) \AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.movie25
For XBMC on Linux: at your home directory (usually it is a hidden .xbmc folder)

All my existing XBMCs were affected by the damn, except one!
I somehow managed to save that by the above modification, and packed in a zip file.

65 responses to “[solved] Get Mashup working again [Last working version] on XBMC (kodi)

  1. Pingback: [solved] Mashup XBMC not working – Fixed Nov 19, 2014 | Quak Quaks of the Ugly Duckling·

  2. Thank you so much!!! I was able to get an old version of mashup working when it originally went down but it was an old version. I am so thankful that you were able to save the newest version with Super Movies and Mbox feeds. It all works!

    • You are very much welcome. I was also a little bit unsatisfied of that old version, without the super movies and super tv links, that was actually the whole motivation. But I wouldn’t get too comfortable with it because, there wont be any further development or support for it from the developers.

      The sweet thing is Mbox feeds still work!

      • hi there
        I installed mash up but when I open it I don’t see any icons and if I press on movies I see the error showing up but I don’t see the Thumbnails / icons whit the movies/ even it is show me some number of pages

    • Most of the things won’t work. Expect that as MASHUP isn’t supposed to be used at this moment.
      But the Super Search, Super Movies and Super TV, these 3 things are still working. I just checked.
      URL Resolver error happens when the file gets deleted or the server is down or somehow your traffic is getting blocked before reaching the server.
      I would suggest you remove Mashup first, then reinstall from http://is.gd/mashuplatest this link.

    • Hi J, sorry for late reply, i finally figured out a way for you.

      There is a fix, but it is a bit complicated.
      first, open your xbmc and move the mouse over Settings, and you will see File Manager, click on File Manager. Click on Add source and type

      http://mashup.hostingsiteforfree.com/download

      and type

      Mashup

      as the name and click done.

      Second, click on Settings>Addons>Install from zip file and select Mashup, click on Mashup.zip and wait. This might take a while until you get a popup saying “Mashup – Addon enabled”.

      Now go to Videos>Videos Addons and you will see Mashup there.

      N.B.1. Be careful about the address, it has to be exactly

      http://mashup.hostingsiteforfree.com/download

      N.B.2. After you click on the mashup.zip, if nothing happens after a long time, repeat the second step until mashup is enabled.

      Best of luck.

  3. My ipad2 wifi, still has an unaffected version no update ever. The version with super search as the first icon. Every link works fine as far as I can tell. If any you how to access it from the the ipad I would be glad to share it. But thanks again my matricom boxes are back up again. Juste need atv2 fix.

    • I am sure there is a way to access the file manager on Apple TV, but i dont have an apple tv, i was unable to comment on that.
      However, in reply to your previous comment, i have written a way to do that. Let me know if that worked.

  4. Very grateful for this. Mashup had very powerful search scripts over about 11 sources. I, like you, struggled to find a replacement for tv shows and MBox! Well done.

  5. Sounds great but considering I am a novice where do you get this file? I don’t see it as an add-on? For sure I even know how to get to the web from the box if that is what is necessary

    • There is a fix, but it is a bit complicated.
      first, open your xbmc and move the mouse over Settings, and you will see File Manager, click on File Manager. Click on Add source and type

      http://mashup.hostingsiteforfree.com/download

      and type

      Mashup

      as the name and click done.

      Second, click on Settings>Addons>Install from zip file and select Mashup, click on Mashup.zip and wait. This might take a while until you get a popup saying “Mashup – Addon enabled”.

      Now go to Videos>Videos Addons and you will see Mashup there.

      N.B.1. Be careful about the address, it has to be exactly

      http://mashup.hostingsiteforfree.com/download

      N.B.2. After you click on the mashup.zip, if nothing happens after a long time, repeat the second step until mashup is enabled.

    • There is a fix, but it is a bit complicated.
      first, open your xbmc and move the mouse over Settings, and you will see File Manager, click on File Manager. Click on Add source and type

      http://mashup.hostingsiteforfree.com/download

      and type

      Mashup

      as the name and click done.

      Second, click on Settings>Addons>Install from zip file and select Mashup, click on Mashup.zip and wait. This might take a while until you get a popup saying “Mashup – Addon enabled”.

      Now go to Videos>Videos Addons and you will see Mashup there.

      N.B.1. Be careful about the address, it has to be exactly

      http://mashup.hostingsiteforfree.com/download

      N.B.2. After you click on the mashup.zip, if nothing happens after a long time, repeat the second step until mashup is enabled.

      • Hello, I’ve seen your instructions on installing Mashup onto the Apple Tv 2. The second step failed, and kept displaying an error message. (plugin.video.movie25 installation failed)

        The message was displayed repeatedly and I’ve kept trying, but nothing worked so far. Is there any solution to this, so I can install Mashup? thanks.

  6. Is there anyway to get the mbox feed on it’s on? Like outside of mashup? Maybe a standalone add-on etc.

    • You my friend, just spoke my mind! But unfortunately, i found none.
      Please share here if you find one.

      Btw, with the increased popularity of Mbox, i think it is getting slower (but it is always consistent, which is good!).

  7. I just tried this, and while most of Mashup works, it seems that MBOX has pretty much disappeared. I get error messages, or don’t see it as an option after searches. Is this correctable, or is MBOX just gone for good?

    • Yes, I have noticed that last night. I guess its time to move on accepting the fact that Mashup is dead.
      To be honest, i was trying to revive mashup just for the search and Mbox links. And now Mbox is gone, i don’t see any point of keeping the dead horse.

      I was looking inside the mbox part of the code, and may be the videos were coming from
      http://my.mail.ru/video/search” this link.

      I am not sure how to correct it at this moment. Of course, it is correctable, but i just don’t know how.

    • Mashup is pretty much dead right now and i don’t know how long we can water the dead plant. Icefilms went down for a while and now it is up again.

      I would suggest to go for GENESIS and iStream.
      Genesis has a VKBox thing which is a bit similar to MBox on Mashup.
      Best of luck brother. Sorry couldn’t be of much help.

  8. Hi I’m new to this I understand mashup is dead however I don’t seem to be able to use anything apart from navi x and I really really want to watch sports the movie streams work ok on navi x but none of the sports feeds seem to help I’m desperate

    • Hi Dave, I would suggest you to install the following addons for sports.
      Navigate to the sports section of these addons. Let me know if you have any further problems. 😀

      iLive – Blazetamer Repo in Fusion
      New Menu>Live Sport
      Vdubt25 – Xunity Repo in Xfinity
      UK Sports, Canada Sports and many others
      Worldtv by Xunity – Xunity Repo in Xfinity
      Lots of IPTV channels, they just come and go.
      Pak India Live – Xunity Repo in Xfinity
      Sports
      Phoenix – Lambda Repo in Fusion
      WOODY
      staeel2014>Live TV>SPORT
      Crusader
      Cliq – Blazetamer Repo in Fusion
      Sports
      Livestreams> user submitted playlists
      Entertainment Hub – The Yid Repo in Fusion
      Sports
      F.T.V – Kinkin Repo in Fusion
      Sports

      ** I heard people talking about SportsDevil and others, but never tried them, it might be better.

  9. Hi I am currently running Gotham and as I’ve said before I’m new to this and have no idea how to get ilive or xunity on xfinity could you possibly send me a link so I can install from a zip file thanks for your help by the way

  10. Howdy mate not sure if you received my email but thanks to your very helpful videos managed to get most things working very much appreciated. Now my next problem is that I have an mbox and want to install kodi to it. Now don’t get confused I don’t want to install the app I need to install the program onto the box thanks in advance

    • I am not sure what you meant by “I don’t want to install the app I need to install the program onto the box”.

      Phoenix, Mashup, Navix these are called addons that run on KODI (XBMC) and Kodi is a program (when its in PC/MAC/LINUX). Kodi can also be called an app when it runs on TV boxes (MXBOX, APPLE TV, ANDROID BOX etc.) or mobile devices (phones, tablets, ipads etc.).

      Mate, what do you want to install? I dont have a TV (no TV box either!) , but i can help you installing it on PC/MAC/Linux or mobile devices.

  11. Hello again I know I’m becoming a pest but i was watching a movie earlier with my son on Phoenix then I’ve tried watching another movie but nothing seems to want to load anymore on anything I can get a film through a live stream on ilive but not on navi x or anything else for that matter and when I get a live stream it’s usually already started is there something I need to do to my mbox

    • Hey, don’t say that, i am more than happy to help.

      For movies, I mostly rely on 1channel, icefilms, genesis, mashup, movie25 and movie4k.to addons. Cartoon HD and Cartoon HD is also good for famous movies and tv shows (and cartoon as well).

      Sometimes, the video files get deleted from the server, then the video links no longer work. Thats how it is. There is nothing to do other finding another source.

  12. Ok mate right firstly I had an mxbox and i thought it didn’t have kodi on it I bought it off eBay I contacted the seller they advised me to reset the box then when I did that no kodi it had been wiped clean but it was me all along just being thick and not knowing what I was doing. Anyway I now have an mxbox which I think I could use if I could reinstall kodi onto it. Now secondly 1channel and mashup, ice films don’t work the usual for me 1channel has nothing when I click on it and I thought mashup was dead and buried thanks in advance mate.

  13. Hello. I was just going through all the comments and you seem like a very patient and helpful person. Thank you so much for sharing and making it so easy for us to get Mashup again. Can’t thank you enough!

  14. have installed mash ups but kodi crashes every time I try to open the add-on 😦 what did I do wrong?

  15. Hiya mate thnx for your reply good luck with your exams and shit but anyway enough of that malarkey the problem I’ve got is that when I reset the box it just displays the mbox logo and doesn’t go to the home page so I can access the settings there’s obviously a way to install the software from scratch otherwise they couldn’t sell these boxes but I’m buggered if I know how to do it.

  16. I am unable to install any add-on from zip file on my XBMC. It keeps saying incorrect file structure and just fails. Not just with this one but I also tried to install Genesis as well and it failed. Any ideas?

    • try a fresh xbmc or kodi install. then try again also before new installs disconnect your internet router from the wall (power) for 5 mins then connect to power and start to install your add ons again.

  17. I am getting the same issues that Bobby Bright gets. I cannot install it, as I get an “incorrect file structure” message, and it cannot be loaded. Any idea why that would be? I have reset my GBox back to factory, reloaded XBMC / Kodi, and no change.

  18. UDB, just curious, I am still able to use Mashup on most of my devices since the patch fix I found, but this weekend I decided to to install Kodi on my Windows 8 PC to walk by Brother in Law through the process. We both installed the patched version of Mashup, that I have on all my other devices. The difference for bot of us, now when we open Mashup, it still works, but when it’s opened, instead of seeing all the Icons shortcuts, we both see it says I Can See You, and no images, the super search and others work, just annoying seeing the wording, just curious, if you had a suggestion on this. I did try a few versions of the Mashup Patched zip file, and same result.

  19. The other thing I have noticed on Mashup, even if installed and enable, if I haven’t opened Kodi in a few days, when I do open Mashup is not longer there, I have to sideload again.

  20. Any idea on how to get the icons back? still works put there is no icons in mashup. on my other box the icons still loads fine. i tried copying my old mash up folder (on my other device, that has mash up working with icons) (Plugin.movies25 folder) and also the same folder in user data but still nothing on the new install on mash up. no icons load…. your help will be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

  21. Can someone help me I can’t get my live TV or my premium channels.what do I need to do .

  22. Pingback: How to get Mashup working again | Genie Box - Android TV box·

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.