Install a font without admin privilege (windows only)

I have not been writing so many posts these days, because I am pretty busy with my thesis work. For that, I need to stay long hours in the lab. I don’t have admin rights on those computers as those are simple workstations and i have to login using my university username and password.

But for some reasons, I needed to install a font, which required admin privilege. And it is practically impossible to install a font on a windows 7/8 computer without having admin privilege. So, this is how I managed to solve it.

  • How to install a font without administrator access/rights/privilege/permission

1. Download and install Portable Apps Platform anywhere (Installation doesn’t require admin rights).
http://portableapps.com/download

0

2. Remember where did you install it. Say, H:\Portable Apps\

1

3. Copy and paste the font file to the “H:\Portable Apps\PortableApps\PortableApps.com\Data\Fonts” folder (or where you installed the Portable Apps Platform). Create the “Fonts” if it is not already there.

2

4. Exit and Restart the Portable Apps Platform.

5. Now the font will be available in other applications as well, remember to keep the application running, or it will not work.

5

Thanks to this awesome guy, who figured this out.

http://superuser.com/a/398590

 

 

6 responses to “Install a font without admin privilege (windows only)

    • is there any other steps to bypass that administrator privileges? i need to install the required fonts on the computer.

  1. THANK YOU! I’m a university instructor with an admin-only desktop computer. The fonts I use in my powerpoints only show up in the classroom – now I can see them on my desktop PC, too! You rock!

Leave a Reply

